Mardi Gras 40th Birthday Party!

My party partner-in-crime, Heather, and I were asked by our friend Denise to coordinate her 40th birthday party’s design. She wanted to do Mardi Gras…..so fun, right? And a masquerade, too! (By now, you should know that I get way too excited about any costume opportunity!!)

So we aimed to keep it elegant…but also sassy!  We steered clear of the usual bright purples, greens and yellows….went black, white and gold….and designed the party decor with more of an old New Orleans feel.  French influenced.  Lots of vintage decor….even a few brass instruments thrown in!

Here are the few pics I got in the excitement of decorating.  I’m not super jazzed about the lighting…but I do hope you can get the feel.  Happy 40th, Denise!!  Laissez les bons temps rouler!

Table-Centerpiece-Closeup

Table-Centerpiece

Photobooth-sign

Photobooth-suitcases

Photobooth-couch

The full story on this couch in an upcoming post…..We saved it and rehabbed it in a funky way!

Couch-closeup

Parasol-Ceiling-Decor

Parasol-Closeup

Card-and-Mask-Table

Card-suitcase

Drink-table-ful-view

Hand-lettering on the mirror by yours truly….painstaking but ultimately loved the end product!! I loved Denise’s signatures cocktails…

Drink-table

Drink-table-centerpiece

Cake

Girl-group-costumes

Our birthday girl in the middle with the beautiful white corset and large black mask! Wanted to get this blogpost up ASAP…But I’m rounding up a better photo of her so check back ;P

Mardi-Gras-Costume

With my costume, I went a little bit Parisian clown! I had too much fun.

Heather-and-I-costumes

Thank you, Heather, for all of your hard work! Look for more of our parties together in the future with our growing collection of fun vintage props.

 

Leave a Reply

